Apple Crisp

Victoria the lady who I work for asked if I could bake something using the apples that hadn’t been touched from the fruit bowl since I have been here. She was having guests staying over and wanted an after dinner dessert for both the kids and the adults.

As you know I have an addiction to Pinterest and find so much of my inspiration off it, so I went straight onto it to decide what I could make. It came down to two recipes ‘Apple Crisp’ or ‘Caramel Apple Shortbread Crumble Bars’. I decided on the Apple Crisp even through the bars looked and sounded so delicious.

IMG_8947

I decided on the crisp because it used up all the apples, can be made in advance and most importantly can be served straight from the oven (and as we are coming into a London Winter I thought it would be appropriate).

I was linked from Pinterest to ‘Tastes Better From Scratch’ where I found my recipe. (http://tastesbetterfromscratch.com/2014/10/apple-crisp.html)

Apple Crisp

Crumb Topping
1/2 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Oats
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Cinnamon (ground)
1/8 tsp Salt
1/3 Cup Butter, diced into small chunks

Combine the crumb topping ingredients with a fork until it resembles small crumbs.

IMG_8929

Refrigerate while you prepare the apple filling.

IMG_8931

Apple Filling
4 large Apples, peeled and sliced thin
3 Tbsp Butter, melted
2 Tbsp Flour
1 Tbsp Lemon Juice
3 Tbsp Milk
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/4 cup Brown Sugar
1/2 tsp Cinnamon (ground)

Peel and thinly slice all apples.

IMG_8932

In a small bowl, combine melted butter and flour. Add lemon juice, milk and vanilla and stir well.

Stir in brown sugar and cinnamon.

Pour butter mixture over apples and toss to coat.

IMG_8933

Pour apple mixture into an 8×8-inch baking dish and spread into an even layer.

IMG_8934

Sprinkle crumb topping evenly over the apples.

IMG_8945

When ready to bake, pre – heat oven to 180 degrees.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown and top is set.

Serve with ice-cream.

IMG_8949

Leave a Reply

